January:

To start January, I am actually going to start with Christmas break. During Christmas break I stayed with Jeremiah, Sarah, and the kids. Being a single guy, when I come to visit my brothers and their kids, I always hope that God will give me enough stamina to keep up with all of the little ones! This break He did just that! The kids were great and I didn’t feel burnt out too much from the holidays. (We all know how tiring the holidays are!) After Christmas I was privileged enough to be a groomsmen for my great friends Curtis and Liz’s wedding. This wedding was on New Year’s Eve, and I think that only added to the specialness of this great day for them and their faith community! However, just like all good things, break came to an end. I headed back to Conception to start the spring semester on January 5th.

Upon coming back, the students got a few days to relax and settle-in, on the 9th we finalized our classes for the semester. This semester I will be taking, Natural Theology, Biology, Latin II, New Testament, and a class over a classic Russian novel (Master and Margarita) which just ended. On the 8th and 9th we had great celebration for the Epiphany and the Baptism of the Lord. This was escalated with the opening of our newly remodeled student Union! The place looks amazing and I find myself studying here in between classes instead of walking over to the library!

The first few weeks of this semester were littered with special guests and many people coming to Conception on retreat to prepare for the Abbatial Blessing of Abbot Benedict on the 15th of January. Pictured above is Abbot Benedict Neenan at the Abbatial Blessing. (Link of the Blessing on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGqufZtPffQ) From the 19th-25th of January the International week of Prayer for Christian Unity took place. This was a great time for reflection on a topic very dear to my heart. To end the month off strong, I was very excited to take part in the CEW (Christian Encounter Weekend) at my home parish of St. Ann’s. I met so many great guys and as Fr. Pat always says, “Made some circles.” The retreat was very refreshing and was a great prep for Lent, I made great friendships that I know will last a lifetime.

So this was pretty much a jammed back month of AWESOME and I can not wait for February to continue growing closer to the Lord and making friendships with new people! Until next time, have a blessed day and God bless!

— Cameron

Leave a Reply

